Tezpur University was established on 21st January, in 1994 by an Act of Parliament of India, The Tezpur University Act, 1993 (Act No. 45), as a non-affiliating and residential Central University. The University islocated at Napaam, about 10 Km.east of Tezpur town in the Sonitpur District of Assam. The sprawling, serene and green University Campus of about 262 acres provides the best atmosphere with modern infrastructure conducive for learning and dedicated research. The academic programmes offered in the University have a distinct focus on science, technology and humanities, reflecting the objectives of the University. The University has four Schools of Studies which are divided into 21 Departments and three Special Academic Centres. At present, the University offers Doctor of Philosophy programme in 19 disciplines, Masters programme in 26 disciplines, Post-Graduate Diploma in 3 disciplines, B.Tech. in 6 disciplines, Certificate programme in 3 disciplines, Integrated M.Sc. in 4 disciplines, Integrated M.Com., Integrated B.Sc.B.Ed. in 3 disciplines, Integrated M.A. in one discipline, Integrated B.A.B.Ed. in one discipline, two-year B.Ed. Programme, B.Voc. Programme in 2 disciplines and one diploma programme under Community College. The University offers Add-on courses on Yoga and Violin too. During the last twenty two years of its existence, the University has engaged itself in the process of capacity building, both in terms of infrastructure and human resource development. The University has made tremendous efforts in developing it into a modern university incorporating all elements from the contemporary scientific and socio-cultural milieu. Scripting history not only for itself, but also for Assam and the North-East India, Tezpur University (TU) bagged the Visitor’s “Best University” award 2016. Tezpur University has figured among the top five Universities in India, according to the National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF), 2016.